MDB District Municipalities 2018

The district (Category C) municipalities are municipalities that are comprised of local (Category B) municipalities. The Metropolitan (Category A) Municipalities are municipalities with the major cities as the core (e.g. City of Johannesburg) and they are outside the District Municipalities. When the boundaries of local municipalities change and affect the boundary of district municipalities, the new district municipal boundary is generated. In the District Municipalities 2018 shapefile there are 44 District Municipalities and 8 Metropolitan Municipalities. Note that Metropolitan Municipalities are included in the District Municipalities shapefile to ensure that the layer is continuous throughout the country. If the Metropolitan Municipalities were left out, there will be void spaces in the layer.


View interactive map

Associated spaces

Cape Town , Durban , Johannesburg

Part of this shapefile

This shapefile contains 52 items - we are only displaying the first 20 below. View all »
View all »


Something wrong with this information? Report errors here.